Uncategorized

One of my Proudest Moments – Class of 2011

Walking across the stage today in recognition of having completed my Executive MBA program was one of my proudest moments.  What I’m most excited about is the fact that I shared this great milestone in my life with my son.  Even though at just three months old he had no idea where he was or what was going on, I look forward to the day that I can share with him the stories of my experiences as a graduate student, especially the many months in which he sat in my womb, kicking away while I was absorbing knowledge. 

I will pass on this very knowledge that I’ve gained to my son as I nurture him through his many life stages to come.  I look forward to the day when I see him walk across a stage to shake the Dean’s hand and move into a very successful career.  Now don’t get me wrong, I’m in no rush for him to grow up but my experience today made me think a lot about his future.  Sure I hope he’s athletic and I look forward to seeing him score his first basket, or touchdown (hmm..Daddy and I are still debating about football), or homerun, but nothing will mean more to me than seeing him receive his education.  This is the very reason why I continued to push myself out of bed each Saturday morning for the past two years at 6AM, extremely aggravated that I had to get up but everyone else could sleep in and do whatever they wanted while I sat in a classroom for 8 hours.  Even in those final months when I was clearly waddling instead of walking causing my fellow classmates to be nervous that I was going to head into labor at any moment, it was so very necessary for me to not only do this for me, but for my unborn child too. 

Education has always been very important to me, I’ve always wanted to go further for the simple fact that I want to be a success, I want my parents to be proud, and I want to be proud of myself for what I’ve been able to accomplish despite any challenges that have been thrown in my path.  I will pass on this very spirit of determination and strength to my son who I hope one day when I tell him about my educational experience will say, “Wow Mom, I’m so very proud of you.”

Leave a Reply

