Motherhood · New Moms · Parenting Experiences

Reflections on Motherhood: Part 1

Did you ever think the day would come when having time to take a shower would become a luxury? Did the thought of not being able to tackle your “to do” list or even accomplish completing your errands ever cross your mind? Most of all did you ever think finding a changing table while shopping would become a stealth mission? Did you think you would be hiding in the back of a Dunkin Donuts changing your baby in the stroller??? YES, though embarrassed to admit that this happened to me but it had to be done because baby boy had a load on deck that was seriously offending the atmosphere and there was no changing table and the bathroom was extremely gross! I am shocked that there are still retail stores and restaurants that do not have changing tables but that is a sore subject for another day.

The last year has definitely been an adjustment period as a new mom, but I am so proud and overjoyed to have arrived at this stage in my life. Being a mother is the greatest gift and blessing. Watching my son grow and learn has been the most wonderful experience, it is almost difficult to express the amount of joy I feel as a mother and the love that I have for my son. Simply put, he is AMAZING!

I look at the world through a different lens now and I am more mindful of what is important in life and I don’t stress over the things that I cannot change, after all life is too short and I would much rather place my time, focus, and love on this beautiful treasure who every day touches me with his smile and presence in my life. And at some point, I will have time for the shower. 🙂

Here’s to Motherhood!

Leave a Reply

